Loathe yourself, they say.

I’m tired of being told I should loath my identity: my white identity, my female identity, my Christian conservative identity, my American identity, the identity of cisgender males, and my human identity.. all in the name of being sorry for all the ills of other peoples, other nations and the entire planet. I’m tired of the deranged and false concept that I owe my existence on this planet to the abuse and misery of minorities, 3rd world countries, and the planet’s excess carbon. No one should feel the 2nd hand residual blame for other people’s misfortune. If anything, why not encourage a white Christian American female with the fact that many people like me in the past and the present have given much for the betterment of our world’s poor and oppressed. No one people group deserves the majority of the blame for the darkness that exists in the world. We all share the blame and the praise for the evil and the good. Every day, each and every one of us has a choice to represent humanity as a whole. To focus on how as one human being, I can choose to think right, speak right, and do right. If all I focus on and am told is that people like me who think and believe like me are a perpetuation of oppression and pollution in the world, then how will I recognize and pursue the great potential I, we each, have to do good?

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Why am I crying this much?

It’s not like he was my best friend. He didn’t give me presents and money. He didn’t shower me with compliments. His greatest encouragement was “don’t stop just because you have a side stitch.” So, why do we all love this man genuinely... Continue →